Raising Daisy

Last night, I was dreaming about a litter of kittens being dumped off that I became responsible for their care.  I wasn’t pleased because it was a cat that caused the whole infection process with me in the first place.  Let’s just sayI like cats, but don’t feel the need to have one.  I forgot the dream for the most part after I woke up and started my day.  Just as I was about to turn on the sprinkler, I saw this tiny ball of fur hunkered up in the corner.  She didn’t move when I got close, and I could tell she had been used as a play toy for one of the neighborhood cats.  I scooped her up and made a nice bunny bed for her in a big cardboard box.  I gave her stuff from her normal habitat, such as a pile of dried leaves to hide in, grass and clover to munch on, and I boiled water that she’ll need to drink.  Most bunnies die because people give them tap water without boiling it. Bunnies have weird digestive systems.  I have raised bunnies successfully before and, don’t think this time will be any different,

Daisy is almost ready to be a wild bunny on her own within a week or two. I’m pleased to see her nibbling the food I gave her. That’s always a good sign. Speaking of signs:

A moon symbol, links with fertility and rebirth. Christian symbol of vigilance, fleeing temptation

 

A strong moon symbol, the rabbit has ancient links with fertility and rebirth. Its alertness speed and timidity made it a Christian symbol of vigilance, fleeing temptation.

 

Folkloric symbol of harmless guile, appear in many stories as a trickster figure.

 

Rabbit is also one of the Aztec names of days.

 

The Rabbit animal sign in Chinese Horoscope: 1963, 1975, 1987, 1999, 2011 etc.

Artistic, thoughtful, intelligent, and lucky, the rabbit is a Yin sign. A typical rabbit often pursues a comfortable lifestyle.

Rabbits are tricksters, companions to witches and “gatekeepers” to the night and to a different type of consciousness. Rabbits symbolize fertility, mystery, fear of tragedy, long life, quick-thinking, strengthening intuition, illness and disaster. They call your mental fears to you in real life. They teach you to stop “what if” thinking. They are connected to Eostra, Holda, Andraste, Freya, Hermes, Aphrodite, Eros and Chandra.

As I am a practicing Wiccan. the symbolism is very important to me.  I get signs from animals all the time, and I pay attention to them.  

Daisy probably won’t be here very long.  I think I’m just a stopover in her journey. My Mackenzie will be here just about the time the bunny can be released.  Mack is 4 and, I think she’ll get a kick out of helping release the bunny.  

Now, the turtle that visits the garage daily has a little competition for his lettuce.  I’m laughing as I type this thinking about the tortoise and the hare.  I guess you can say that the both won today.  The dog? She just accepts that new babies show up here from time to time.  She is secure in her position as primary baby of the house.

Well, for now, I have to get back to a tarot reading I’m doing for someone. I hope everyone has a great day and, at least, one good laugh. It really is the best medicine.Image

One thought on “Raising Daisy

  1. Pingback: Raising Daisy | When a Nurse Becomes the Patient

Leave a Reply

